Trademark continued…Notice of Allowance

We are excited to reach another milestone here at The Marching Podcast, and we are honored and blessed for the support we received to get this done. We applied for a trademark for TMP in late 2012, and in May of 2013, we officially received the trademark…or so we thought. Later we received an email from Trademarkia, the company that published the trademark said that we needed to file a Notice of Allowance. “What is this?” I thought. The Notice of Allowance means the government will give me my trademark, if I submit a proof of use that shows that I am currently using said trademark.

WIN_20140108_193248

I added a picture of one of the T-Shirts from the Marching Podcast Nalia Store and added all the information in the form. I then click on the next button and of course another fee!!! …and this is more expensive than the trademark form I filled out last year!!!! It is significant to acknowledge all of the hoops and red tape needed to push your business in our society. One of our investors, Jack Lukehart Jr., who supports the network, laughed with me about this when we asked for his help. He said that things like this are in place to deter anyone from running a business, it may seem like a lot of work and extra money every year, but the effort to cut through the red tape should be for the benefit of why the business stands. I sat back and realized how correct he was, because my initial thought should not be one of an obstacle, but more work and more savings to help provide scholarships to young people so they can learn about and become successful in the world of business and beyond.

Starting this business has been an incredible learning experience and my lesson here in this particular case is that I should be prepared for any fees and/or new taxes that may appear to hinder my path. In actuality, this is part of the work that I need to do to make the world a better place. Other than learning lessons, I want to send a shot out to the investors that without any hesitation donated to the cause. I talked to Chuck Moore about my frustration of needing money to make things happen, and he told me that choosing anger and frustration is a choice. I can also choose to do what I can to swim or to stay alive.  Our Director of Editing Collin Welbon, was out of work, but still wanted to help us keep our trademark alive. Not too long after he said he would help, he found a nice, full-time gig. So in this process of establishing a trademark, I am learning from the business but also learning life lessons from the people that love and support the cause. All established through friendship which is essential to the soul. 🙂

I am very thankful for the type of people we have in our network and having good people around us is the real reason The Marching Podcast is alive and growing. Also shot out to our normal sponsors and patrons that donate every month. This Notice has been filed and I am awaiting further correspondence.

Collin Welbon and Jessie Parteno

Jack Lukehart Jr.

Chuck Moore

Leave a Reply

