Happy One Year Anniversary

304417_333112973452902_1444244306_n

May 19, 2012 was my first broadcast on BlogTalkRadio. The title was “Hello World,” and I believe that it was a 15-minute show. I wrote out what I wanted to say to prepare for my first broadcast; I was crazy nervous, and I was not sure if I was going to go through with it. In most circumstances in my life, it is the things that I am scared to do, when forced through it, I am stronger on the other side. Turned out that the 15 minutes was not enough, and I created another episode the following day to finish what I’d prepared to say. The Marching Podcast was started as a podcast to discuss show style marching, but now it is a network highlighting the positive images in our community and the success of HBCU graduates.

The 90 Degree show is our bread and butter and will be expanding outside of football season to cover more high school battles like the Warren County drum show and the High Stepping Nationals. Medicina represents the spiritual aspect of our network, and we have a health show on the horizon that will be out soon. Woodsheddin’ will continue when our experts are ready to present material, and we will continue Choppin It Up, of course. We want to find a college preparatory show, and a finance show to complete the character pillars of the network.

As human beings, our perception is our reality. Research has shown that the color of our skin does not correspond with intelligence or athletics, but when all we see are blacks in the NBA or whites in positions of leadership, without the proper education and exposure, we start to believe that we are what we see. It’s indicative of the power of the human mind, based on what we accept in our minds, it allows us to carry out certain things based on what we believe to be true. We want to focus this energy to show more minorities in positions of leadership, circumstances in academia, and nurturing and building their communities.

I hope to build a bridge with the Latino community and expose more of them to black colleges, in turn increasing college degrees in the Latino community. I want to inform kids in these tough neighborhoods that it is easier to be a doctor than to be the point guard for the Lakers. The poker tournaments on television always show the viewers what each player has in their hands, and based on the cards on the table, there is a percentage for each player showing the probability of them winning the hand. Today in our world, there are too many minority children playing with a 5% hand because that is all that they see. We want to change that.

I want to send a special thanks to all of the people on our staff at TMP. We appreciate your help, especially out of the goodness of your heart because I cannot provide any monetary compensation. I aspire to give people a standard of life one day, but for now, I want to let you all know how grateful I am for your work and service in the past year. For the month of May, I will ‘chop it up’ with 3 of my classmates from Jackson State that are doing major things, and I will have a special 90 Degree Show on the anniversary day, recapping the past year and getting ready for the upcoming marching season.

Many thanks over the past year to all the people that have listened to the show.

Leave a Reply

