Butcher Black and the 2012 Black College Football with EA Sports!

It’s Football Season! And we are searching the web like crazy to check out as many bands as possible. Using mostly YouTube, of course, but I am also putting the names of the schools that I know in a search engine and adding words like ‘bands’, ‘hbcu’, etc.; and I have been surprised at my results. The results returned all of the black colleges that were playing in week 1, but the thumbnails looked like video games. I clicked on the Hampton vs. Tennessee Tech video, and I was surprised to see that this was a The actual game using EA Sports College Football ’13! I then looked to see who’s channel this was and saw that he has simulated all of the Black College Football games for that week. I immediately subscribed to his channel and sent him a message to say how cool this was. He responded with “thank you”, but told me about the game called Black College Football: BCFX: The Xperience and how excited he was when the game was first released in 2007. (Lolita Carter, the band director at Dominguez High School, told me about the exact same game.) I personally never played the game and vaguely remember much marketing around the product, but after talking with Lolita, I researched the game and the reviews condemned the game. There was even a part of the game where the user had to win the halftime show by playing with the band using something similar to the gameplay of ‘Guitar Hero’ and ‘Rock Band’. I will have to check it out for GP, but Butcher Black was upset with the game and wanted to do something to give back to the schools and to give a better representation of Black College Football.

This is crazy tight, and I am watching the games myself late at night after I put the family down and when there is no football on TV. Butcher Black is doing something great, and he will be a guest on the ‘Choppin’ It Up’ show in 2013. I have not talked with Butcher Black extensively, but it appears that he is a gamer and/or employed in the gaming industry. This is another avenue to present to our kids for career development, and we look forward to his show on our network. Big Ups to Butcher Black, and I have posted a link to his Black College Football with EA Sports below. Go to the site and subscribe to his channel!

HBCU Football by Butcher Black Productions!

Leave a Reply

