To my surprise….

So I am all excited about my blog and trying to get this podcast going and to my surprise I find this has already been done…WTF….yes I know trippin’ me out. There are some good current resources for marching band discussion, videos, blogging etc. MarchingNetwork, the5thquarter, MarchingSport.

These are some good sites and it’s really cool that my ideas someone else is thinking about them and they have been in the works. I would like to help and assist if I can but what I can’t do is quit. Having an idea is a responsibility and I can not get discouraged if someone has beaten me to the punch. Funny enough the same thing has happened already on this path. I originally wanted to create a battle of the bands to LA to get exposure here and to get more young black males interested in college. I later find that the HomeDepot Center has a battle of the bands in Carson, CA already and is a great tool for exposure and recruiting for Band directors. Tamala Jones is the POC when contacting about this event. I would like to interview her for the podcast but she said I have to go through some channels. Hopefully this will be nothing but understandable. I emailed her and she said that the event is every two years and will be back in 2012. Hopefully by then I will be apart of the equation somehow 😉 She went to Spelman like my mom so I am sure she is doing a good job. I will update the interview list later in the week.

Anyway I find through the forum 5thquarter that there is a 5thquarter podcast and a HBCU marching band podcast on itunes. I find it and it is old and it looks like they are not doing it anymore or something. I tried to leave a trail on the internet about my idea and my willingness to help in any way so we will see what I pick up. I have subscribed to the podcast and listened to some of it. The discussion was about the selection of schools for the Honda classic.

Leave a Reply

